POETRY POCKET

Sonnet Of A Sober Drunk


I am a bedraggled mess, because of you I lose sleep!  Oh because of you! I wonder how?!  Did you not plan your sweet tasting coup and overthrew my reason; my emotions to be subject to you now?

I found no favour in bars, or pubs and searched chateaus for the perfect wine, but good drink makes you covet it, and cheap wine tastes of infatuation and sweet-bitter after tastes; so after the best I did pine.

My shabby clothes are mistaken for persona, appreciating not book but simple cover; I’m a man who dresses past Solomon in heart to pursue as a suitor a most faithful lover.

My smell keeps people away from me but keeps you ever so near; they told me to wash and forget about you but they don’t know who favour might kiss, not one of them be a seer.

Then I came across a chateau, a long since forgotten one, but with all the fruits of a farmers effort gone to waste; in the faithful cellar was all but one bottle – I had to have a taste.

I had but a sip –I had found a good thing. If this place were mine to have all finance of mine in this would be sunk, the place would be restored as a virgin and of these sweet grapes I’d get most passionately drunk.

Your affections would be beautifully bottled for my pleasure and I would uncork with loving care; the finest of tastes, the rarest of years, you’re type is extremely hard to come by: with any I would refuse to share.

Copyright © by K.O.Reuben (2010)

Standard

Leave a Reply

